Tag Archives: council

Proposal Will Assign New Designated Seats to Two SCCM Specialty Sections

The Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) is pleased to announce that SCCM Council supported and approved the Emergency Medicine Section and the Neuroscience Section each being considered for a designated seat on SCCM Council. As a result, an amendment to the SCCM bylaws will be drafted and presented to the SCCM membership for a vote prior to SCCM’s 2015 Critical Care Congress. If the bylaw revision is accepted by the SCCM membership, the Emergency Medicine Section and the Neuroscience Section will each have a Designated Seat on SCCM Council beginning in 2016.

The Society strongly urges all members to participate in the election this fall. A strong turnout by the sections will be essential for an electoral victory.

Recognizing Nursing Excellence

Barbara McLean, MN, RN, CCRN, FNP, FCCM, received this year’s Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence in recognition of her dedication to critical care as both a clinician and educator.

McLean BarbaraAs a critical care specialist at Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, Georgia, McLean exemplifies excellence in critical care nursing through her tireless efforts as a patient care provider and advocate. A well-known educator, she has been invited to speak all over the world including the Philippines, Saudi Arabia and Spain. She has been active in Nursing Section leadership and has served on numerous Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) committees. In 2001, McLean became the 20th nurse to be inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine. Additionally, she was elected to an at-large seat on SCCM’s Council in 2004, then re-elected in 2007. Her care for the critically ill and injured are evidenced through her service after Hurricane Katrina and again in Haiti after the devastating earthquake; she has made more than eight trips back to Haiti in continued support of those in need. In recognition of her contributions, SCCM presented her with the Distinguished Service Award in 2011.

It is time again to nominate a colleague for the SCCM’s Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence. If you know someone who demonstrates dedication and commitment to critical care nursing, nominate them today.

Additional SCCM Awards

The Society offers several other awards. Most offer a complimentary registration for the Critical Care Congress, and all provide the unique opportunity to recognize colleagues for their dedication to the field. Award applications are due August 1, 2013.

Call for 2014 Council Nominations

The Society of Critical Care Medicine’s (SCCM) Nominating Committee is seeking candidates for the 2014 election. Council terms are for three years, and both at-large and designated seats are open. Elections for designated seats are staggered to allow for a sustained experience and memory of Council deliberations, as well as to promote fresh perspectives in the governance of the Society.

The following 2014 seats are open for nomination:

  • Designated Seat – Nursing
  • Designated Seat – Pediatrics
  • At-Large Seat #1
  • At-Large Seat #2

The Nominations Policy suggests that each section should nominate at least two and (usually) no more than three willing candidates to fill a designated seat. Nominations for the designated seats will also be entertained from the general membership. Nominations for the at-large seats can be submitted by the specialty sections or general membership.

Complete the online nominations form as soon as possible, but no later than May 1, 2013.

Questions can be directed to Diana Hughes, CAE, at dhughes@sccm.org.