Tag Archives: ACCM

Apply for FCCM Designation

The deadline for completing the application to become a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine (FCCM) is March 15, 2017. Please contact Society of Critical Care Medicine staff partner Carol Prendergast at cprendergast@sccm.org or call +1 847-827-6826 if you have any questions about the application process.

Also, the session “Become a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine” at the Society’s 46th Critical Care Congress will be held Tuesday, January 24, 2017, from 9:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Plan on attending this session to ask any questions you may have regarding the application process.

Elections: SCCM Council and ACCM Board of Regents

Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) members will have the opportunity to cast their votes for SCCM Council and American College of Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) Board of Regents as elections are open November 6 through December 4. There is also a proposed amendment to the SCCM bylaws as the Neuroscience and Emergency Medicine Sections have requested designated seats on SCCM Council. Notices with voting instructions will be sent via email as well as through the U.S. Postal Service. Candidates and open seats are as follows:

SCCM Council

President Elect
Todd Dorman, MD, FCCM

Jerry Zimmerman, MD, FCCM

Anesthesia Designated Seat
Daniel R. Brown, MD, PhD, FCCM
Andrew J. Patterson, MD, PhD, FCCM

Collective Designated Seat
Heatherlee Bailey, MD, FCCM
Cherylee W. J. Chang, MD, FCCM

Pediatric Designated Seat
Vinay Nadkarni, MD, MS, FCCM
Ken Tegtmeyer, MD, FCCM

Surgery Designated Seat
Lewis J. Kaplan, MD, FCCM
H. Mathilda Horst, MD, MCCM

At Large Seat (2 seats)
Lauren Sorce, RN, PhD(c), CPNP-AC/PC, FCCM
Antoinette (Toni) Spevetz, MD, FCCM
Sandralee Blosser, RN, MD, FCCM
Mohan Mysore, MD, FCCM


ACCM Board of Regents

Secretary General
Bruce Greenwald, MD, FCCM

Regent (3 years; choose 1)
Edward Conway Jr., MD, FCCM
Elizabeth Farrington, PharmD, BCPS, FCCM

Regent (2 years; choose 1)
Aryeh Shander, MD, FCCP, FCCM
Julie Mayglothling, MD, FCCM

Webcast to Review Consent for Research

Researchers are at the forefront of advancing knowledge that can be leveraged to treat disease, to improve quality of care, and to enhance patient experiences and outcomes. In the upcoming webcast, Consent for Research in the ICU, from the Controversies in Critical Care series, John Whitcomb, PhD, RN, CCRN, FCCM, Dan Thompson, MD, MA, FCCM, and Alex Kon, MD, FCCM, will discuss the different challenges in pediatric and adult consent for research and present the difficulties for consent in complex research in critically ill patients.

Learning Objectives

  • Discuss the fundamentals of consent for research
  • Explain the issues of consent for research when the patients cannot consent for themselves
  • Describe the difference between pediatric and adult consent for research
  • Explore the problems for consent in complex research in critically ill patients

This webcast will take place on Friday, April 25, 2014, at 1:00 p.m. Central Time.

Register online today. The registration fee for this 60-minute webcast is $30 for SCCM members and $40 for nonmembers. Participants will receive 1 hour of continuing education credit. Please contact SCCM Customer Service at +1 847 827-6888 to inquire about the $200 group rate for institutions that will host multiple participants.

The Controversies in Critical Care webcast series is a joint project of the SCCM Research Committee and the American College of Critical Care Medicine’s Ethics Committee. This series is intended to provide insight into topics in critical care medicine for which there is no clear consensus or unequivocal evidence for guiding practice decisions.

Access the Latest Clinical Practice Guidelines

Get the information you need, whenever and wherever it’s convenient for you. The Society of Critical Care Medicine’s ICU Guidelines app provides summaries of select American College of Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) guidelines for quick reference as well as an opportunity to download PDFs of full guidelines to your device. Developed by the ACCM and approved by the Board of Regents and SCCM Council, these guidelines provide the essential recommendations, protocols and parameters for intensive care unit activities. Read more…

Recognizing Nursing Excellence

Barbara McLean, MN, RN, CCRN, FNP, FCCM, received this year’s Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence in recognition of her dedication to critical care as both a clinician and educator.

McLean BarbaraAs a critical care specialist at Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta, Georgia, McLean exemplifies excellence in critical care nursing through her tireless efforts as a patient care provider and advocate. A well-known educator, she has been invited to speak all over the world including the Philippines, Saudi Arabia and Spain. She has been active in Nursing Section leadership and has served on numerous Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) committees. In 2001, McLean became the 20th nurse to be inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine. Additionally, she was elected to an at-large seat on SCCM’s Council in 2004, then re-elected in 2007. Her care for the critically ill and injured are evidenced through her service after Hurricane Katrina and again in Haiti after the devastating earthquake; she has made more than eight trips back to Haiti in continued support of those in need. In recognition of her contributions, SCCM presented her with the Distinguished Service Award in 2011.

It is time again to nominate a colleague for the SCCM’s Norma J. Shoemaker Award for Critical Care Nursing Excellence. If you know someone who demonstrates dedication and commitment to critical care nursing, nominate them today.

Additional SCCM Awards

The Society offers several other awards. Most offer a complimentary registration for the Critical Care Congress, and all provide the unique opportunity to recognize colleagues for their dedication to the field. Award applications are due August 1, 2013.

Nominate Prestigious Fellows for MCCM

The deadline to nominate colleagues for the American College of Critical Care Medicine’s (ACCM) Master of Critical Care Medicine (MCCM) designation is approaching. Those with the MCCM designation have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions in research and education, as well as through service to the Society and the field. They have achieved national and international professional recognition due to personal character, leadership and eminence in clinical practice. To be eligible, candidates must have been Fellows of the ACCM for at least five years. Nominations for the MCCM designation are due April 15, 2013.